It’s Not a Reference to Asian Hookers

I've Loved You So Longthis was the perfect thing to do when avoiding readings in harlem on friday nights.  it gave me the opportunity to catch up with a friend i had disconnected from recently.

I’ve Loved You So Long is the story of sisters separated by 15 years of imprisonment.  when Juliette (Kristin Scott Thomas) is released from prison after a fifteen-year sentence for murder, her sister Lea (Elsa Zylberstein)  invites her into her family’s home.

we soon discover who Juliette murdered, but not exatly why, and Lea’s husband has trouble adjusting to her (potentially) dangerous presence in the house.  Juliette, on the other had, is nearly silent.  she rarely speaks and when she does, she is usually uttering single-syllable words of compliance.  she says, “yes” and “i don’t mind” because she wouldn’t know how to ask for what she wants and because shhe might have no idea what that is.

the story takes through all that comes when people long separated by something terrible and believable come back together and what it takes out of them.  Juliette is pained and quiet, and Kristin Scott Thomas is a master at showing us what this really looks like.  i can honestly say, i do not think i have seen such small expressions mean so much in quite a long time.  yes, we all know KST is a genius, and all of her work (even as Plum on Absolutely Fabulous) is better than the average (acting) bear, but this is in a class all its own.

as juliette discovers how to bond with her young, adopted nieces and her brother-in-law’s disabled father, we see her learning how to connect with a world she had long since abandoned (and by which she had been abandoned).

it’s beautiful, and it kept me thinking about it all the next week.  if you don’t like it, i don’t think we can be friends.

~ by acaseofyou12581 on November 20, 2008.

4 Responses to “It’s Not a Reference to Asian Hookers”

  1. Such a profound, beautiful film! Thanks for the reccommendation. It was so sad, and she was just so quiet. I liked watching her blossom from prison pick-up to the woman she was at the end of the film. I often found myself getting angry at the brother in law, but then I realized I don’t know how I would behave in that situation. And Michel. Sigh. Michel. I liked him a lot. I also liked the piano lessons with the niece. Petit Lys, I believe was her name. My heart broke at the end. I didn’t weep bitterly, but I definitely teared up. I haven’t seen many French films, but the ones I have seen I have loved. Thanks again for this.

  2. It’s a truly remarkable film. I wrote about it on here before I decided to fully devote the site to horror. I fell deeply in love with it. Wonderful.

  3. I find myself still thinking about her face when she finds out about her PO; the piano lessons with her niece; the conversation with Michel after her birthday party; the fight with her sister at the end. I definitely need to own this flick.

  4. Yeah, I bought it. It was glorious. It was the best film of its year.

Leave a Reply

 
