I Spit on Your Movie

Remember earlier this week or last week or whenever (hell, I don’t remember; I can’t be expected to remember these things) when I was talking about how I watched the remake of The Last House on the Left?  And I was all talking about how rape revenge films make me feel all weird and how they hurt my soul?  Yeah?  Well, I still watch them.  See, that’s the thing.  I mean, I try to avoid them, but they are a part of this dialogue that I find really interesting, and because of that, I just have to watch them.

I mean, as an academic of sorts (yes, I still call myself that even though I have been out of school for a semester and I am reevaluating whether or not I am actually going to continue) I have been investigating the way sexual violence is portrayed in literature and art.  And as a result, I find these films very interesting.  That’s not to say that the act of watching them doesn’t damage me in some way.  I think it does, actually.  I have a history with them, and I tend to leave them feeling really shaken, and that feeling usually doesn’t go away for a long, long time.  (If you can take my experience with Irreversible, it sometimes takes months.)  But I feel like understanding them and their effects is important, so I watch them.

And yes, there is a part of me that wants to see the people who would perpetrate such violence punished.  (Maybe the largest part of me is actually that–a revenge fantasy that I have made real.)  And when I see a man who’s just raped a woman get his dick bitten off by her mother, I can’t help but feel like, well, yes, he does deserve it.  I know this doesn’t gel very well with my politics, but I am what I am.  An enigma wrapped in a goddamned puzzle.

I say all this because I have just queued of I Spit on Your Grave (Day of the Woman), and it will be arriving at my house Monday (and yes, I know there is a 26-minute gang rape in it).  I know there are some of you out there in the personal world of the all-mighty ME who will try to dissuade me from seeing this film, but those of you who know me from the horror blogosphere are going to try to convince me to watch it the instant that red envelope arrives.  The two groups are likely going to pull me apart all Amityville style (“Mother of God, I’m coming apart!”).

So I have prepared messages for both.  Read below.

FOR HORROR BLOGOSPHERE PEEPS:
I love you all dearly, and your convincing has finally convinced me.  As such, I will partake in the viewing soon.  I will not sue you, however, if I need a lifetime of therapy after said viewing.  And I promise to love you after.

FOR IN MY LIFE PEEPS:
I know you think I should not watch this, but you have witnessed me making much bigger mistakes and kept your mouths shut, so I just ask that you do this one more time.  And I ask that you love me anyway.  Oh, and I ask that you answer the phone when I call you after my nightmares.  Dig?  Thanks.

UPDATE: I have now seen this flick, and yeah, I do spit on Meir Zarchi’s movie.

~ by acaseofyou12581 on May 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “I Spit on Your Movie”

  1. Well, I haven’t seen any of these movies, so I can’t tell you one way or the other. But I’ll still answer your phone calls after your nightmares.

  2. Thanks for that. Seriously, I expect this movie to fuck me up pretty badly, but I just have to know. I HAVE TO! You will likely get a frantic blog post after.

Leave a Reply

 
