A Mourning Interlude

This has nothing to do with horror, but it’s my site, so suck it.

News spread ’round the globe yesterday that we lost yet another Golden Girl and co-star of the magnificent and often forgotten Mama’s Family.  Both series were an intensely significant part of my childhood, so I find it appropriate that I spend just a moment to mourn the loss of the great and wonderful Rue McClanahan.

It seems like a waste of precious time (hey, Rue is proof that we only live so long) to go through her many roles and describe exactly why she is loved and will be so sorely missed.  So I’ll just give you personal connection.  Hell, that’s all I do here anyway.

When I was a little girl, I had “old people” issues.  And as I grew a bit, this did not change.  Then I started watching Golden GirlsGolden Girls is one of the pop cultural influences in my life that opened the doorway to feminism.  Why, hell, women past 40 can still be sexy, can still be ambitious, can still be totally fucking awesome.  All the girls on this show taught me that lesson, but Rue, she taught me that women can have sex in their 60s.  Now, that’s something.  Yeah, it may seem obvious to us all now that women in their 60s have sex drives, but think back to a time before television gave us this vision of senior citizenry.  Before this, we just relegated women her age to roles like grandmother and old maid neighbor.  Rue and her clan (see what I did there?) are boundary-breakers!  And we should all be thankful for them.

So just take a moment.  Think of Rue, and then go have sex with a 60-year-old.

~ by acaseofyou12581 on June 4, 2010.

One Response to “A Mourning Interlude”

  1. I liked her on Maude.

Leave a Reply

 
