Memes Aren’t So Bad, Right?

Generally, I avoid memes.  They tend to irritate both readers and myself, so I just pretend that I don’t receive notice of these, but thanks to Day of the Woman, I came across one that is decidedly un-sucky.  Apparently the meme is the work of the blog Billy Loves Stu, so we should click on over there and give the site a visit.  Otherwise, read my answers, for you are my pals.  (What?  You’re not?  Shit.)

1: In Ten Words or Less, Describe Your Blog:
A sort of haphazard and snarky experiment in film-viewing, no?
2: During What Cinematic Era Where you Born?
A: The Classic Horror Era (late 30’s to 40’s)
B: The Atomic Monster/Nuclear Angst Era (the late 40’s through 50’s)
C: The Psycho Era ( Early 60’s)
D: The Rosemary’s Baby Era (Mid to Late 60’s)
E: The Exorcism Era (Early to mid 70’s)
F: The Halloween Era (Late 70’s to Early 80’s) — yippee!
G: The Slasher Era (Mid to late 80’s)
H: The Self Referential/Post Modern Era (1990 to 1999)

3: The Carrie Compatibility Question:
(gay men and straight women – make your choice from section A)
A: Billy Nolan or Tommy Ross, who would you take to the prom?
(straight guys and lesbians – make your choice from section B)
B: Sue Snell or Chris Hargensen, who would you take to the prom?
Sue Snell, duh.

4: You have been given an ungodly amount of money, and total control of a major motion picture studio – what would your dream Horror project be?
I feel that this is far too complicated a question for me to answer, and it would require me to plan for years, and I don’t really have that kind of committment (no, really, ask all my exes), so I will simply say that it has always been my dream to see myself or someone playing me in a horror film have the killer (of course it would be a slasher) put his or her foot on my crotch and rip one leg off.  They would then promptly turn around and beat other victims to death with it while I or the person playing me screamed in horror.  Good, no?
5: What horror film “franchise” that others have embraced, left you cold?
Saw.  What a fucking abortion.  It’s such a logical impossibility, and it really is so far from scary.  I mean, it makes F13 Part VIII look good.
6:  Is Michael Bay the Antichrist?
I think he may have taken a shit on my face this past April.  I have no definitive proof of this, but I left the theater covered in shit, and I am pretty sure he’s responsible.
7: Dracula, The Wolf Man, The Frankenstein Monster – which one of these classic villains scares you, and why?
The Wolf Man.  I think it could be the Lon Chaney of the whole affair, but the classic universal monsters usually leave me a little detached, but The Wolf Man, well, he just seems so human, and it feels like we could all be him one day.  OOOooooo creepy.

8: Tell me about a scene from a NON HORROR Film that scares the crap out of you:
So there’s this moment in The Last Unicorn when the harpy gets free and destroys Mommy Fortuna.  Yeah, that is just about the scariest thing I have ever seen–horror or no.  With Mommy Fortuna all yelling, “I held you! I hellllllddddd youuuuuu!”  And then you see the unicorn and Schmendrick walking slowly away with the “You mustn’t run from anything immortal.  It attracts their attention.”  And that’s not the only bit.  Check out that red bull at the age of seven, huh?  Scary shit.
9: Baby Jane Hudson invites you over to her house for lunch.  What do you bring?
Scotch.  That’s all she really wants anyway.  Besides, it would have been too easy to name a bird of some kind, wouldn’t it?
10: So, between you and me, do you have any ulterior motives for blogging?  Come, on you can tell me, it will be our little secret, I won’t tell a soul.
We’re trying to take over the world.  (Because blogging is about as effective at accomplishing that goal as anything Pinky and the Brain ever came up with.)

11: What would you have brought to Rosemary Woodhouse’s baby shower?
The seven sacred daggers.
12: Godzilla vs The Cloverfield Monster, who wins?
ppbbbffff.
13: If you found out that Rob Zombie was reading your blog, what would you post in hopes that he read it?
“Witnessing the pathology of Michael Myers makes me want to drop kick a baby–YOUR baby, Rob Zombie.”

14: What is your favorite NON HORROR FILM, and why?
A Star Is Born (1954) — if you’d seen it, you wouldn’t ask why.  Mostly, it’s an absolutely stunning vehicle for Garland’s voice and acting.  She was pitch perfect.
15: If blogging technology did not exist, what would you be doing?
My job, most likely.
~ by acaseofyou12581 on July 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
